Haney Masters vie for cup

staff reporter


Two Haney teams will be competing in the Pacific Coast Master’s Championships to be held in Cloverdale early next week.

A rink consisting of  skip Lorne Fletcher, Hilly Boonstra (third), Gregg Hook (second) and Chris Martin (lead) will compete for the Guy Phillips trophy for curlers 60 and over, while Angelo Masaro’s rink will vie for the over-70 Cup.

Masaro, along with Chuck Lilley, Joe Stadel and Rudy Baird will represent the Haney Masters League as they compete for the Graham Donaldson Trophy.

Stadel continued his quest for first-place in league play with a narrow win over Ed Brown’s rink. Stadel, along with Wayne Leech, Tony Stadig and Terry Lajeunesse have a one-point lead over the charging Terry Gregory rink of  Max Albrechtsen, Walter Vesa and Earl King.

Gregory grabbed an easy 7-2 victory over  the Wayne Chin foursome who had shared first-place with Stadel and the Bill Hanula rink. Hanula, with Baird, Kent Skene and Stan Melanson  also dropped out of a tie for first-place when they battled to a 7-7 draw with the Bill Gardner rink.  Behind 7-6 going into the final end, Baird produced  a great hit-and-roll which couldn’t be removed to salvage the tie. With only two games remaining before play-offs begin, Stadel has a narrow  one-point  lead over Gregory and Hanula with Chin just two points back.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Help out Ridge Meadows Help Portrait event
Ridge rockers to open for Finger Eleven
Wood-be musicians
Reel on the River season begins Feb. 7
Magic for children
Abby band and Arnold Shoichet play at Twilight
The Best and Worst Movies To Watch This Halloween (VIDEO)
For Better held over at Langley Playhouse
Timeless Nutcracker offered by Creative Outlet

Community Events, October 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Oct 24 edition online now. Browse the archives.