Gregory rink takes GEWC title

Terry Gregory’s rink completed their domination in Haney Master’s Curling League play with a runaway 10-3 victory over Wayne Chin to capture the Championship Final.

Gregory, along with Max Albrechtsen, Walter Vesa and Earl King, played consistently through the first six ends before jumping all-over the Chin rink to count a four-ender in the seventh end for the convincing win.  The Gregory crew were easily the dominant team this Spring season as they finished in first place in league play and then played solidly throughout the playoffs to win the club championship.

Chin’s foursome of George Lagerstrom, Barry Elson and Ed Belsey, tied with Gregory entering the final,  came up short in the final game of the A Flight Championships.

Meanwhile the Bill Gardner and Darrell Winterlik rinks ended up in a tie for the B Flight championship, both recording victories to remain undefeated.   Gardner, with Reg Nelligan, Bob Gooden and Mike Ward grabbed a narrow 7-6 victory while Winterlik, with Mike Murgatroyd, Bob Axford and  Roland Hill took a 6-3 victory over Angelo Massaro’s rink.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event