Bantam Burrards bring home lacrosse silver

— image credit:

The Ridge Meadows Burrards bantam A1 lacrosse team returned from the Kamloops Minor Lacrosse Association’s Al Price Memorial Tournament with silver medals around their necks after going 3-1-1 last weekend.

The Burrards opened the tournament with a 4-3 win over the Port Moody Thunder, with Kyle Bailuk named the team’s game MVP.

The Burrards notched another 4-3 win in their second game of the tourney, against the Langley Thunder, with Haden Harty getting the game MVP nod.

The Burrards finished off round robin play with a 4-4 tie with the Coquitlam Adanacs as Daylan Kellough was named the Burrards’ top player.

That put the Burrards through to the tournament semifinals, in which they met the Delta Islanders, beating them 9-5. Jadden Schellauf was named game MVP.

In the tournament final, the Burrards once again face the Coquitlam Adanacs, this time falling 7-3 for their first loss of the weekend.

The bantam A1 Burrards are Bailuk, Harty, Kellough, Schellauf, Mackenzie Rope, Dale Andre, Aiden Serr, Mason Hicks, Nick Robison, Ryan Arce, Mateo Le Van, William Clayton, Daytin Vidovich, , Anthony Kalinich, Tyler Magnison, and Connor Evers.

The Burrards peewee girls’ squad was in action on Sunday, beating the Coquitlam Adanacs 10-7, while the novice girls’ beat Coquitlam 14-1.

On Saturday, the peewee A2 Burrards beat Coquitlam 6-2, while the intermediate A Burrards lost 16-14 to the Delta Islanders on Friday.

In tyke and mini-tyke action, Emmerson Hankins, Jack Olson, Josh Bettesworth, and Morgan Downey were named game MVPs.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event