Leslie Norman

Dairy barn display at the Pitt Meadows Museum.

Pitt museum, post rec split

The museum is now working directly under a fee-for-service agreement with the City of Pitt Meadows.

Dairy barn display at the Pitt Meadows Museum.
The first Pitt Meadows annual sports day ad Strawberry Festival took place in June 1938.

Looking Back: Pitt Meadows Day turns 75

This iconic community event got its start in 1938.

The first Pitt Meadows annual sports day ad Strawberry Festival took place in June 1938.
The building was originally relocated near the CP Rail tracks in 1908.

Looking Back: The more things change

A lot of talk these days about the possibility of an underpass at the Harris Road CP Rail crossing.

The building was originally relocated near the CP Rail tracks in 1908.
Clippings and paperwork for Private E. Irvine

Looking Back: In Flanders Fields, in 1915

Nov. 11 is Remembrance Day and the Pitt Meadows Museum will mark the date with exhibits and a slide show at the cenotaph ...

Clippings and paperwork for Private E. Irvine
Pitt Meadows Museum Society volunteers at the 2014 heritage reunion tea.

Coffee, tea and irreverence

Pitt Meadows Heritage and Museum Society will hold its AGM April 8

Pitt Meadows Museum Society volunteers at the 2014 heritage reunion tea.
Mayor Austring and his council in 1967.

30 years of Pitt elections

A recap of the some of the issues facing candidates leading up to Pitt Meadows elections starting in the early 1980s.

Mayor Austring and his council in 1967.
Museum After Dark is now in its fifth season at the museum’s two sites and this year runs for the full week before  Halloween.

After dark at Pitt museum

Is the Pitt Meadows Museum haunted? You be the judge.

Museum After Dark is now in its fifth season at the museum’s two sites and this year runs for the full week before  Halloween.
The 1958 structure was a large scale project built of wood with a canopy.

Centennial stages at park

“Through a Century of Progress: Pitt Meadows 1914 to 2014,” exhibit will be back on display at the Pitt Meadows museum.

The 1958 structure was a large scale project built of wood with a canopy.

100 years celebrated at museum

The Pitt Meadows Museum will have both sites open in honour of the Centennial.

Back in 1913

Looking Back: Christmas in small rural town

What would a child in Pitt Meadows, back in December 1913, have dreamed of for Christmas?

Back in 1913
Pitt Meadows Police badge from 1914.

Police badge a gem of a find

A donation made in the spring of 2009 to the Pitt Meadows Museum made it feel like Christmas.

Pitt Meadows Police badge from 1914.
Pitt Meadows first municipal hall was the Number One School House building at the corner of Harris and Hammond Roads.(Photo circa 1914)

Looking Back: District of Pitt Meadows is born

The City of Pitt Meadows turns 100 next year

Pitt Meadows first municipal hall was the Number One School House building at the corner of Harris and Hammond Roads.(Photo circa 1914)

Summer at Pitt Meadows Museum

Museum relies on summer students and youth volunteers to open its two sites five days a week

Wellington Jeffers Harris was advised by Simon Fraser to purchase land in Pitt Meadows along where the CP Rail line was being planned.

Looking Back: A fascinating experience 75 years ago

William Harris was advised to buy land in Pitt Meadows by Simon Fraser.

Wellington Jeffers Harris was advised by Simon Fraser to purchase land in Pitt Meadows along where the CP Rail line was being planned.
The General Store will feature a ‘Pitt Meadows Believe it or Not’ exhibit.

Museum ready for Pitt Meadows Day

Celebrating by kicking off a few Pitt Meadows 100th Anniversary projects.

The General Store will feature a ‘Pitt Meadows Believe it or Not’ exhibit.
Roads were scant and the only bridge over the Pitt River was the single track CPR span.

Looking Back: Movement afoot for new municipality

Part of a continuing series commemorating the 100th anniversary of Pitt Meadows

Roads were scant and the only bridge over the Pitt River was the single track CPR span.
William Rannie

Naming of the road to Pitt Lake

We owe the name change to Mary Jo Pearson, who ensured her great uncle was remembered accurately in the community.

William Rannie
Name lives on of Irish soldier who gave his life for new country.

Looking Back: What we know of Pitt Meadows war dead

Name of Roland Thomson, from Ireland, lives on memorial, though the rest is lost to history

Name lives on of Irish soldier who gave his life for new country.

Tour virtual museums in Canada

No need to buy plane tickets, just check out website

Pitt Meadows’ little red fire truck

Fire brigade formed in the middle of the Second World War