Pitt council veteran seeks return to politics

Janis Elkerton is running again after a four-year absence

Janis Elkerton

Former Pitt Meadows’ councillor Janis Elkerton is seeking a return to Pitt Meadows council after a four-year absence.

“This election is a turning point for Pitt Meadows.” Elkerton said.

“With the current mayor stepping down and two council members vying for that position, there will be a significant loss of experience for the city.”

Elkerton attended the Union of B.C. Municipalities Convention in Vancouver last week, when she reconnected with her municipal and provincial colleagues.

The ensuing discussions highlighted the significant challenges facing local governments and confirmed her desire to play a role in municipal government again.

“I am passionate about Pitt Meadows and want to bring my experience to bear on several important decisions facing our community over the next three years,” she said.

Continuing transportation improvements, reducing the municipal tax burden and accumulated debt through partnerships with other levels of government and the private sector, sustainable development with increased business opportunities and enhancing the agricultural community are going to her top priorities.

Elkerton knows that addressing these issues requires experienced leadership and said she has gained that through her involvement in local government organizations at the municipal, regional and provincial level.

Elkerton is now the owner-manager of a commercial building in Coquitlam which provides her a flexible work schedule to dedicate herself to council duties.

A former community health nurse, Elkerton served for 14 years on Pitt Meadows council, from 1993 to January 2008, when she resigned to recuperate from injuries sustained in a car accident.

Other declared candidates for councillor positions include incumbents Bruce Bell, Gwen O’Connell, Tracy Miyashita and Doug Bing.

Councillors Deb Walters and John Becker are vying for the mayor’s seat, along with Gary Paller.

The nomination period officially opened Tuesday and closes at 4 p.m. Friday, Oct. 14.

Just Posted

Pitt Meadows senior’s car vandalized for more than 18 months

Retired RCMP officer determined to catch ‘tagger’

High jumper on under-18 national team

Maple Ridge athlete will represent Canada in Mexico

Pitt Meadows has community celebration on July 1

Car show, dog show, kid zone and stage entertainment on Canada Day

Canada Day a big show in Maple Ridge memorial park

Starts at noon, entertainment all day, July 1

VIDEO: Driver doing laps in busy Vancouver intersections nets charges

Toyota Camry spotted doing laps in intersection, driving towards pedestrians

B.C. Ferries vessel breaks down right before long weekend

Horseshoe Bay-Langdale route impacted most, revised schedule adds 4 a.m. sailings

Every situation is different, jurors hear at coroners inquest into Oak Bay teen’s overdose death

Pediatrician says involuntary treatment necessary following overdose, opioid use

RCMP across Canada to soon unionize, according to B.C. mayor

A spokeswoman for RCMP headquarters in Ottawa says it’s not yet a done deal

Explicit sex-ed guide for adults mistakenly given to Creston elementary students

The booklet clearly states online and inside that the guide contains sexually explicit information

Driver has $240K McLaren impounded minutes after buying it in West Vancouver

Officers clocked the car travelling at 160 km/h along Highway 1 in a 90 km/h zone

Former Vernon Judo coach pleads guilty to child pornography charges

Bryan Jeffrey McLachlan is set to return to court Sept. 4 for sentencing

B.C. Olympic skier sues Alpine Canada after coach’s sex offences

Bertrand Charest was convicted in 2017 on 37 charges

Most Read