Burrards honour their best

Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse Association holds annual awards night

Ashley Kingsbury was the female player of the year in the Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse Association this year. (Contributed)

Ashley Kingsbury was the female player of the year in the Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse Association this year. (Contributed)

The Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse Association held its annual awards night on Nov. 22 at Thomas Haney, honouring its best.

The Female Player of the Year was Ashley Kingsbury. who has represented the province at various Team BC tournaments, and has been a player with the association for 10 seasons.

Kingsbury is a volunteer coach in the female program, and has been an award-winning referee. The award also noted where she has gone above and beyond, as she promoted lacrosse and the local association in schools in Maple Ridge and Pitt Meadows, and is “excellent role model and mentor to our young players.”

Drew Andre was the Maple Player of the Year. He was selected to play for Team Canada in an under-17 tournament Heritage Cup tournament. Andre was the only player from B.C. selected for the unique event which features the top players in North America representing First Nations, Canada and the U.S. In the U17 Showcase, Team Canada defeated the Iroquois Nationals, 25-7, at the FirstOntario Centre in downtown Hamilton, Ont.

It was another highlight in a career that has seen him play on Team BC in box lacrosse three times, and as a 14-year-old he won silver medals at national tournaments in both field and box lacrosse.

Outstanding Referee Awards were given to Graydan Carr, Tyler Shaw, and Trevor Funk.

The association began the night with a moment of silence for Aiden Serr, a longtime player who passed away in a car accident. For the remainder of the field lacrosse season, all players will be wearing a helmet decal with his initials and number: “A.S.#5”. The association said it will honouring Serr “a very special young man” in more ways in the future.

The organization also recognized its graduating players: Drew Andre, Nathan Barr, Kyle Brandon, Trevor Funk, Chase Johnson, Loch Munro, Jake Sheridan, Jack Williams, Wyatt Alain, Reece Hansford, Xavier St. Peter, Austin Baillie, Kurt Hebel, Kaidin Sheehan-Davies, Cody Zachow, Nathan Graham, Matthew Hoskins, Luke Evans, Nathan Pearson, Dylan Vandelaar, Olly Williams, Gracie Palidwor Parker, Jake St. Germain and Braeden Washington.

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Conservative MP Marc Dalton (The News files)
LETTER: Recovery is best solution for solving opioid crisis

During mental health week, MP draws attention to support needed for those addicted to illicit drugs

A local letter writer is pleased the muncipality is restricting new vape shops. (Vape360)
LETTER: Maple Ridge educator lauds council’s limiting of vape shops

Existing shops will be grandfathered in but no new shops can open, council decided

Maple Ridge’s Sherry Brosnan captured this picture of Gold Creek in Golden Ears Provincial Park, as a light fog rolls over the water. (Special to The News)
SHARE: Fog rolls over the water

Send us your photo showing how you view Maple Ridge or Pitt Meadows, and it could be featured soon

Pitt Meadows Day was celebrated with drive by cheers last year. (Special to The News)
Pitt Meadows day will be celebrated virtually again

80th anniversary of the popular celebration will have to be enjoyed from home

Students across school district watched videos and did activities geared towards mental health. (Special to The News)
National day of mental health marked by Maple Ridge Pitt Meadows school district

Child and Youth Mental Health Day started by FamilySmart in 2007

(The Canadian Press)
Trudeau won’t say whether Canada supports patent waiver for COVID-19 vaccines

‘Canada is at the table to help find a solution’

Edmonton Oilers’ Connor McDavid (97) celebrates his 100th point this season with Leon Draisaitl (29) against the Vancouver Canucks during second period NHL action in Edmonton on Saturday, May 8, 2021.THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jason Franson
Edmonton superstar McDavid hits 100-point mark as Oilers edge Canucks 4-3

NHL scoring leader needs just 53 games to reach century mark

Twenty-nine staff members at Sunrise Poultry Processors Ltd. in Newton have tested positive for the virus, according to an information bulletin from Fraser Health Saturday (May 8). The health authority issued a 10-day closure order, effective May 7. (Image: Google Maps)
29 staff test positive for COVID-19 at Surrey poultry processing plant

Meantime, outbreak over at Surrey Memorial Hospital

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

A map showing where the most number of cases were recorded from April 23 to 29. This map, revealing a breakdown of infections by neighborhood, was pulled from a data package leaked to the Vancouver Sun last week (and independently verified).
36 Abbotsford schools flagged for COVID-19 exposures in the last 2 weeks, shattering record

Clearbrook Elementary recorded an ‘exposure’ on all 11 school days

Canada’s chief public health officer is reminding Canadians even those who are fully vaccinated are not immune from transmitting the COVID-19. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Canada’s top doctor warns full vaccination does not equal full protection from COVID-19

Post-inoculation, Theresa Tam says the risk of asymptomatic infection and transmission is far lower but not obsolete

The dash cam footage, taken May 7 at 8:18 a.m. belonged to the driver of a southbound vehicle that recently travelled out of the tunnel. (Reddit/Screen grab)
VIDEO: Dash cam captures dramatic rollover crash on Highway 99

Only one person sustained injuries from the collision, says B.C. Ambulance Services

Chevy stranded on a ledge above a rocky canyon at Mimi Falls near Logan Lake, April 28, 2021. (Photo credit: Margot Wikjord)
Police officer and fire chief team up in risky rescue of stranded dog near Logan Lake

Chevy, a rescue dog, needed rescuing again after getting stuck on a ledge above rocky canyon

Most Read