Pitt firefighters honoured

Annual banquet recognized past and present volunteers.

Fire Chief Don Jolley

Fire Chief Don Jolley

The Pitt Meadows fire department recently honoured its firefighters at an annual banquet, sponsored by mayor and council to recognize past and present volunteers for their service and accomplishments in 2013.

The awards were presented by Mayor Deb Walters, fire chief Don Jolley and assistant chief Brad Perrie:

• Special Recognition Award – firefighter Juan Ferreyro;

• Firefighter of the Year – Firefighter Brian Harper;

• Officer of the Year – Capt. Jay Ruzycki.

The Heart in My City Award was given to retired captain Joe Bachmann by the members’ association for his continued hard work in the community.

Juan Ferreyro, Kevin Stockbruegger, Jivan Sundram, Brent Hannah and Joel Champagne were recognized for five years of service, as was Alan McGee for 10.