Local lacrosse players honoured

Members of the Maple Ridge Burrards senior A men’s lacrosse team were well represented at the Western Lacrosse Association’s annual awards.

Fleet-footed forward Curtis Dickson was named to the WLA’s first all-star team. In his second year with the club, Dickson scored 46 goals in 17 games, second only to Nanaimo’s Scott Ranger in league scoring. With 78 points to his credit, Dickson established himself as the crux of the Burrard’s offence this season.

Transition player Tyler Codron won the Maitland Trophy for “Outstanding Play Sportsmanship Assistance to Minor Lacrosse,” while Bill Hicks was named executive of the year.

A pair of local junior lacrosse players also helped themselves to some hardware, as Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse products Reegan Comeault and Mike Mallory figured prominently in the recent B.C. Junior A Lacrosse League awards.

Both players were named to the first all-star team, with Comeault, who plays for the Langley Thunder, amassing 89 points on the season with 37 goals and 52 assists. Mallory, who plays for the Delta Islanders, tallied 34 goals and 47 assists for 81 points.

Comeault was also awarded the B.C. Junior A League MVP honour for leading his team to the play-offs for the first time in the club’s history.

Comeault will be competing in the National Field Lacrosse Championships for Team B.C. over the Labour Day weekend then reporting to the NCAA Division 1 Ohio State Buckeyes Lacrosse Program a week later.