Ridge Giants win B.C.ball hockey gold

Earthquakes also take first at provincials.

The Ridge Meadows Giants won gold.

The Ridge Meadows Giants won gold in the Minor Pacific Division at the provincial ball hockey championships with a 2-1 win over the Surrey Chaos.

Dominik Mroz scored both goals for the Giants on breakaways. Mason Allen had two assists for the local ages 13-14 team. Will Thomas also had an assist.

The Giants opened provincial round-robin play with a 10-3 win over Tri-Cities Black Lightning, then downed Richmond 6-0.

They defeated Metro 4-1 in the semi-finals.

The Giants went undefeated in 16 regular-season games and won their league playoff title, including a 3-0 victory over the Knights in the final. Thomas scored twice in that game, with assists from Matthias Campos and Elias Campos. Cole Simoneau also scored.

Giants players include Will Babstock, Mikkel Fremmerlid, Tomas Hill, Landon Lovig, Seth McConville, Brayden Reed, Cole Simoneau, Nick Squeo, Dylan Tory, Ryan Tsen and Josh Warhurst. Jeff Allen and Dave Thomas coached the team. Michelle Thomas was team manager.

A team official credited the coaches and extra effort for the successful season.

“They held a number of outdoor conditioning practices and fun events prior to and during the season that really helped their endurance as players were able to outlast many of their opponents.  It also bonded them as a team before they even stepped on the floor for their first game.”


Earthquakes win pee wee title

The Ridge Meadows Earthquakes, with shut-down goaltending and clad-tight defense, defeated the Surrey Stealth 4-1 in the championship final of the B.C. pee wee ball hockey championships, July 3 in Port Moody.

The same group of players also won provincial titles in 2013 and 2014, as well as divisional wins those years and in 2012.

The Earthquakes went undefeated through the divisional playoffs this year.

After opening the provincials with a tie against Surrey, Ridge defeated host Metro and Richmond.

The Earthquakes then earned a 3-1 win over Valley in the semi-finals.

The team, coached by Jayson Shalist, Jason Osborne and Peter DeSantis, tallied 18 times at the provincials.

“The team represented Ridge Meadows with sportsmanship, leadership, and humility,” said a team official.


Just Posted

Sun shines on Car Free Day in Maple Ridge

First ever event featured live music, vendors and activity stations

Cyclists take over Maple Ridge

More than 100 cyclists took part in the 17th annual Race the Ridge

Flowers and ceramics take over the ACT Art Gallery

Ceramica Botanica runs until July 27

Streets blocked off downtown Maple Ridge for Race the Ridge

The 17th annual bike race kicked off at 8:30 a.m.

Give Hope Wings fundraiser launches Saturday from Pitt Meadows

Flying marathon will benefit low income Canadians needing flights for medical treatment

10 facts about Father’s Day

Did you know that the special day for dads was first celebrated in 1910?

Parents of B.C. murder victim want her personal belongings back

Lisa Dudley’s parents, Rosemarie and Mark Surakka, were at the Mission RCMP detachment Sunday

B.C. VIEWS: When farmland protection doesn’t protect farmers

Secondary residences aren’t mansions, families tell Lana Popham

Bombers down B.C. Lions 33-23 in season opener

Former Lion Andrew Harris leads Winnipeg with 148 rushing yards

Northern B.C. family remembers murdered Indigenous woman with memorial walk

Still no closure for Ramona Wilson’s family 25 years later

Pride flag taken down by Township of Langley

Woman said she was told it was removed from her front yard because of a complaint

B.C. university to offer mentorship program for former youth in care

Students using the provincial tuition waiver program will soon be able to form a community at KPU

Cyclists competing in one of the toughest bike races on the planet pass through Fernie

Divide riders looking strong as they finish first leg of 4160 km race

You might not know these B.C. records are public

Hired a lawyer to file a civil claim? Those are published online

Most Read